UofT Home   Twitter
Text size: Text size: small (default)Text size: mediumText size: large
Other Campuses: UTM or UTSC
UofT WebMail

Search Chemistry website:   

Colloquium Schedule | Upcoming Events

Check out the previous years' talks:
Ask A Laureate 2013
Ask A Laureate 2012
Ask A Laureate 2011
Ask A Laureate 2010

Ask A Laureate May 9, 2014

Earth Sciences Building Auditorium, SW corner of Huron and Willcocks
open to the public (Map)

Video recording of the lectures

To see the recording please see:

Deborah Zamble

Mark Taylor

Magic Moments

Geoffrey Ozin

Molly Shoichet


9:30 Welcome
9:40 Deborah Zamble
Heavy Metals Rock Biology
10:05 Q & A
10:15 Mark Taylor
Sweet Selectivity: New Catalysts for Carbohydrate Activation
10:40 Q & A
10:50 break
11:00 Magic Moments
11:10 Geoffrey Ozin (tentative)
Solar Fuels from the Sun NOT Fossil Fuels from the Earth
11:35 Q & A
11:45 Molly Shoichet
Chemistry meets Medicine: Strategies to conquer Cancer
12:10 Q & A
12:20 Essay Competition Winners Recognized
12:30 Closing Remarks

This event is made possible with the generous support of the Department of Chemistry.

>> Essay Contest


Deborah Zamble
Deborah Zamble

Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry
University of Toronto

Selected Awards

  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Research Award (2009-2011)
  • Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship (2007-2008)
  • Premiers Research Excellence Award (2002-2006)
  • Canada Research Chair in Biological Chemistry (2001-2010)

Mark Taylor

Associate Professor of Chemistry
University of Toronto

Selected Awards

  • Canada Research Chair in Molecular Recognition and Catalysis (2012.)
  • Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship (2012)
  • Boehringer Ingelheim Canada Young Investigator Award (Chemistry, 2011)
  • Early Researcher Award, Province of Ontario (2011)
  • John Charles Polanyi Prize (Chemistry, 2008)
Mark Taylor

Geoffrey Ozin
Geoffrey Ozin

Professor of Chemistry
University of Toronto

Selected Awards

  • World Cultural Council Albert Einstein World Award of Science for Nanochemistry, 2011
  • Royal Society of Chemistry Barrer Award in Nanoporous Inorganic Materials, 2011
  • Premier of Ontario Discovery Prize in Natural Sciences & Engineering, 2010
  • Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Inaugural Brockhouse Interdisciplinary Prize, 2004
  • Royal Society of Chemistry Award in Materials Chemistry, 2002
  • Chemical Society of Chemistry E.W.R. Steacie Award in Chemistry, 2002
  • Chemical Institute of Canada CIC Medal, 2001

Molly Shoichet

Professor of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
University of Toronto

Selected Awards

  • Fellow, The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), (2011-)
  • Clara Benson Award, Canadian Society for Chemistry, (2009)
  • Killam Research Fellowship. 2008-2010
  • Fellow, Biomaterials Science and Engineering (FBSE), (2008-)
  • Fellow, American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, (2006-)
  • Steacie Fellowship, 2003-2005
Molly Shoichet