UofT Home   Twitter
Text size: Text size: small (default)Text size: mediumText size: large
Other Campuses: UTM or UTSC
UofT WebMail

Search Chemistry website:   

Colloquium Schedule | Upcoming Events

Check out the previous years' talks:
Ask A Laureate 2014
Ask A Laureate 2013
Ask A Laureate 2012
Ask A Laureate 2011
Ask A Laureate 2010

Ask A Laureate May 8, 2015

Medical Sciences Building
J.J.R. MacLeod Auditorium
1 King's College Circle


9:15 Welcome
9:30 Jonathan Abbatt
The Chemistry of Global Atmospheric Change
9:55 Q & A
10:05 Andrei Yudin
Harmony From Discord: Novel Combinations of Incompatible Functional Groups
10:30 Q & A
10:40 Voula Kanelis
The ABCs of controlling potassium movement out of the cell
11:05 Q & A
11:15 break
11:25 Magic Moments
11:35 Jik Chin
Catalysis: Energy, Environment & Drugs
12:00 Q & A
12:10 Shana Kelley
Chemical Sleuthing: Nanomaterials in the Detection of Disease
12:35 Q & A
12:45 Essay Competition Winners Recognized
12:55 Closing Remarks

This event is made possible with the generous support of the Department of Chemistry.

>> Essay Contest


Jonathan Abbatt
Jonathan Abbatt

Professor of Chemistry, University of Toronto
Associate Director, Centre for Global Change Science, University of Toronto

Selected Awards

  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, 2013
  • Fellow of the American Geophysical Union, 2012
  • CIC Environment Division Research and Development Award, 2012
  • NSERC Discovery Grant Accelerator Award, 2007
  • Premier's Research Excellence Award, Ontario, 2000

Jik Chin

Professor of Chemistry, University of Toronto

Founder and CEO of DIAMINOPHARM Inc.

  • World leader in stereoselective catalysis and molecular recognition
Jik Chin

Voula Kanelis
Voula Kanelis

Associate Professor of Chemistry, University of Toronto

Selected Awards

  • New Investigator Award, Canadian Institutes of Health Research (2012-2017)
  • Early Researcher Award, Ontario Ministry of Research, 2011

Shana Kelley

Professor of Biochemistry, University of Toronto, cross-appointed to the Department of Chemistry and the Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering

Selected Awards

  • University of Toronto Distinguished Professor Award, 2103
  • Steacie Prize, 2011
  • University of Toronto Inventor of the Year, 2011
  • NSERC E.W.R Steacie Fellowship, 2010
  • Named one of "Canada's Top 40 under 40", 2008
Shana Kelley

Andrei Yudin
Andrei Yudin

Professor of Chemistry, University of Toronto
Chair of the Board, Organic and Biomolecular Chemistry
University of Toronto

Selected Awards

  • Bernard Belleau Award (CSC), 2015
  • Admitted as a Fellow to the Royal Society (Canada), 2013
  • Admitted as a Fellow to the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK), 2012
  • Inventor of the Year (University of Toronto), 2011
  • Royal Society of Canada Rutherford Memorial Medal, 2010