UofT Home   Twitter
Text size: Text size: small (default)Text size: mediumText size: large
Other Campuses: UTM or UTSC
WebMail

Search Chemistry website:   

Colloquium Schedule | Upcoming Events

Health and Safety Committee

Joint Health and Safety Committee 2016-2017

Name Room # Phone Email
Ken Greaves, Co-chair 20 978-3570 kgreaves@chem.utoronto.ca
Darcy Burns, Co-chair 14 978-0448 darcy.burns@utoronto.ca
Robert Batey 151 978-3566 rbatey@chem.utoronto.ca
Mike Dymarski 154 946-7216 mdymarsk@chem.utoronto.ca
Rudy Furrer 104A 946-3812 rudolf.furrer@utoronto.ca
Nasrin Manouchehri 20 978-3572 nasrin.manouchehri@utoronto.ca
Jack O'Donnell 42 978-5092 jodonnel@chem.utoronto.ca
Linda Scott 154 978-6936 lscott@chem.utoronto.ca
Geoff Shirtliff-Hinds   978-4335 geoff.shirtliff.hinds@utoronto.ca
Mark Taylor 622A 946-0571 mtaylor@chem.utoronto.ca
Christine Weidner  978-8321 c.weidner@utoronto.ca

In addition to the obligations of a Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committee as specified in the Act, the committee provides a confidential forum for students/staff/post-docs/research associates/visitors to discuss health and safety concerns. The Committee meets at least four times a year and copies of minutes are kept on file with the co-chairs.

The workplace is inspected twice a year and if safety violations are found, a notice is forwarded to the responsible researcher. Violations must be corrected within a two-week period. The Committee also investigates and reports on all accidents in the department.