Geoffrey Ozin

Geoff Ozin

Presently Distinguished University Professor in the University of Toronto, Canada.

He achieved the rank of Full Professor in 1977, Distinguished University Professor in 2001, the highest honor in the University of Toronto and was named Canada Research Chair in Materials Chemistry in 2001, a national award for his contributions to science.

His research over the past 35 years has helped change the prevailing view in the most rapidly expanding and highly competitive fields of contemporary materials research. His most recent research in materials self-assembly integrates nanochemistry, self-assembly and chemical-patterning strategies from nanometer to micrometer length scales to make new materials having structures, properties and functions suited to a range of nascent technologies.

He currently serves or has served on the advisory editorial board of some of the top journals in materials chemistry including Advanced Materials, Journal of Materials Chemistry, RSC Materials Monographs, Chemistry of Materials, and Journal of Solid State Chemistry.

He has published 577 articles in refereed journals. He has been granted about 12 patents and has filed around 35 patents, many in different countries. His ISI Hirsch Index h = 66, a measure of the significance of his career’s work. He has also made significant contributions to teaching through the training of a large body of undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate students in materials.

Two of his students have achieved the NSERC Doctoral Prize, highest accolade for a scientific dissertation in Canada (only two awarded each year); two students have received the NSERC Innovation Award, an award recognizing the commercialization potential and achievements of science generated by Canadian students; two students have recently obtained the Governor General Academic Gold Medal which recognizes the graduate student with highest academic standing in the whole University of Toronto.

His close ties with industry have resulted in numerous inventions and technology transfer licensing agreements. It is noteworthy that 31 of his former co-workers hold Professorial positions in Universities in Canada and other parts of the world, four are Heads of chemistry departments and one is a Dean of Science. Of his papers 22 have been published in Nature and Science, graphical illustrations from 31 of his papers have been used as covers of top rank scientific journals and commentaries appear frequently in the scientific media.

The significance of his materials chemistry research has been recognized in various ways. Recently he was awarded the inaugural Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada NSERC Brockhouse Interdisciplinary Prize for his pioneering work on photonic bandgap materials with Sajeev John at the University of Toronto 2005. He was also recipient of the Alexander von Humboldt Senior Scientist Prize 2005, the Canadian Society of Chemistry E. W. R. Steacie 2002 CSC Award in Chemistry, the Royal Society of Chemistry Great Britain 2002 RSC Award in Materials Chemistry, ISI Highly Cited Researcher in Materials Science 2002, the Canadian Institute of Chemistry 2001 CIC Medal, a Canada Council Isaac Walton Killam Research Fellowship 1997-95, and the Royal Society of Canada inducted him as a Fellow in 1992.
Amongst his other honors are the Pure or Applied Inorganic Chemistry Award from the Canadian Society for Chemistry; Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry from the Royal Society of Canada; Alcan Award for Inorganic Chemistry from the Chemical Institute of Canada. Others include the Coblentz Memorial Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy from the American Spectroscopy Society; Meldola Medal for Physical-Inorganic Chemistry from the British Royal Institute of Chemistry. He was a Sherman-Fairchild Fellow at California Institute of Technology and received three University of Toronto Connaught Special Research Awards, reserved for top rank institutional scientists. The Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, CIFAR elected him Fellow of the Nanoscience team.

Site Meter