University of Toronto
Stephan Research Group

January 2018:

Congratulations to Judy who has been awarded a prestigious JSPS Fellowship and will be joining Professor Makoto Yamashita's group at Nagoya University in the spring of 2018!

Welcome to Carolin Schneider and Maegan Ong! Carolin joins our group from the University of Münster as part of the IRTG program and Maegan has joined us as an undergraduate volunteer student.

Congratulations to Louie! Louie has been awarded his PhD in Inorganic Chemistry!

December 2017:

Congratulations to Doug and Dianne on welcoming their first grandchild!

Welcome to Alvaro Briceno-Strocchia. Alvaro joins our group as a volunteer student until he begins graduate studies in the summer of 2018.

November 2017:

Congratulations to Julia! Julia has been nominated for a Notable Award for Best in Fitness. The Notable Awards honour the best of the best of Canada's young professionals. Be sure to vote delay for Julia, you can find her under the Best in Fitness Presented by Equinox by clicking here:

Congratulations Judy! Judy has been awarded her PhD in Chemistry.

October 2017:

Welcome to Haley Cummings and Hlib Razumkov! Both Haley and Hlib have joined our group as undergraduate volunteer students for the 2017/2018 school year.

Congratulations to Connie Tang and Eliar Mosaferi! Connie has been awarded the Leslie Gladstone Cook Memorial Fellowship and Eliar has been awarded the Dalton Pharma Services Advanced Inorganic and Materials Laboratory Fellowship.

September 2017:

Welcome to Ryan Andrews. Ryan joins our group as graduate student after completing his B.Sc. at the University of British Columbia.

Welcome to Valerio Fasano! Valerio joins our group from the University of Manchester as a visiting RSC researcher.

August 2017:

Welcome to Felix Krischer! Felix joins the Stephan group as a visiting researcher from the University of Münster.

Congratulations to Meera! Meera has recently been awarded her PhD in Chemistry.

July 2017:

Welcome to Saurabh Chitnis! Saurabh joins the group as our newest Postdoctoral Fellow after finishing up a PDF position at the University of Bristol.

The Stephan group at the CIC Inorganic Mixer were trivia winners! Here's Diya with the prize:


Shanna's nephew Keegan was visiting Toronto from Thunder Bay and asked to come be a junior scientist for an afternoon. Big thanks to Karlee and Kevin for showing him some neat experiments, including making a fire extinguisher!

June 2017:

Congratulations to Ian Mallov and Shawn Postle! Both Ian and Shawn have recently been awarded their PhD's in Chemistry.

The CSC was held in Toronto this year and was a highly successful event with record numbers in attendance. Below is a photo of University Toronto staff and faculty who were instrumental in ensuring this event was a success.

Left to Right: Lindy Chan, Mark Lautens, Rob Batey (Chair of the Chemistry Department) and Doug Stephan.

May 2017:

Welcome to Farah Farinha and Christopher Major! Farah joins the Stephan group for the summer as an undergraduate NSERC student. Christopher joins us our newest graduate MSc student.

April 2017:

Welcome to Jennifer Möricke and Arne Stepen! Jennifer joins the Stephan group as a visiting IRTG researcher from the University of Münster and Arne joins us from as a visiting researcher from Jan Paradis' group at the University of Paderborn.

Congratulations to Ian! Ian has been award the Dalton Pharma Services Advanced Inorganic and Materials Laboratory Fellowship.

March 2017:

Welcome to Solomon Voldarsky who joins us as a visiting researcher from Professor Roman Dobrovetsky's groups at the Tel Aviv University. Solomon was awarded the Canada-Israel Innovation Initiative for Student Mobility, which awards him funding for his research stay at the University of Toronto.

Congratulations to Lauren Longobardi! Lauren has been recently awarded a Humboldt Fellowship!

Congratulations Karlee! Karlee has recently been awarded an Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholarship (Doctoral). This award aims to help ensure that highly qualified personnel are being trained and meeting Canada's knowledge economy's needs.

Congratulations to Bidraha Bagh! Bid has accepted an Assistant Professor position at the National Institute of Science Education and Research in Bhubaneswa, India.

The bi-annual IRTG Symposium was held March 9 - 10, 2017 at the University of Toronto and was attended by approximately 90 guests from the Universität Münster and the University of Toronto. Participants took part in 2 days of talks from students and professors, along with a poster session of graduate student research.

The Gordon Research Conference in Galveston, Texas had some familiar Stephan group faces in attendance. Roman Belli, Chris Caputo, Tayseer Mahdi, Edwin Otten and Zachariah Heiden had the opportunity to reconnect for a great Stephan group photo op!

February 2017:

Congratulations to Eliar! Eliar has been awarded an Edwin Walter Warren Graduate Student Award.